D. Jack Davis is Professor of Art (Emeritus) and former Director of the North Texas Institute for Educators on the Visual Arts at the University of North Texas where he has been for thirty-five years. During his tenure at UNT, he has served in various capacities including faculty member (1971-2011), department chair (1976-1983), Vice Provost of the University (1983-1993) and Dean of the College of Visual Arts and Design(1993-2004).

Davis received his baccalaureate and master’s degrees from Baylor University in Waco, Texas, and his Ph.D. in art education from the University of Minnesota where he worked with Paul Torrance and Reid Hastie. He began his teaching career as a junior high school art teacher in Waco, Texas. Prior to coming to UNT, he taught at Wayland College, the University of Minnesota, Illinois State University, and Texas Tech University. From 1969-1971 he served as Associate Director of the Aesthetic Education Program and Director of Evaluation for the Arts in General Education Project at the Central Midwestern regional Educational Laboratory (CEMREL) in St. Louis, Missouri.

He is the author of more than 40 publications including books, chapters in books, refereed journal articles and technical reports and has presented more than 70 papers at the local, state, national, and international levels.

He has raised more than $10 million for the visual arts and visual arts education at UNT. Davis was named a Distinguished Fellow of the National Art Education Association in 1989 and a Distinguished Fellow of the Texas Art Education in 1993. Other awards include Other awards include the National Higher Education Art Education of the Year by the National Art Education Association (1988); the Lowenfeld Award by the National Art Education Association (1990); and The Texas Art Educator of the Year by the Texas Art Education Association (1990); an Award for Support of the UNT/Meadows Excellence in Teaching Program (1991); a Special Award for Furthering the Interest of Professional Women at UNT by the North Texas League for Professional Women (1992); an Award for Leadership, Innovation and Dedicated Service to Texas Children and Communities by the Texas Center for Educational Technology (1995); the Texas Commission on the Arts’ Texas Arts Basic Award (1999); the National Art Educator of the Year by the National Art Education association (2005); and the Community Arts Recognition Award (CARA) for Education by the Greater Denton Arts Council (2006). He was also the recipient of a U.S.–German International Education Administrators Fulbright Award in 1990.

He serves as the chair of the Trustees of the National Art Education Foundation, a member of the Board of Trustees of the African American Museum in Dallas, and a member of the Board of the Center for the Advancement and Study of Early Texas Art (CASETA).